Wrecking Ball

Crazy how things can turn out with some celebrities who start in the industry as kids and couldn’t quite know or learn how to grow up.*

The Last Song, movie posterI can’t get over the fact that I kinda did like the movie The Last Song and now the lead star of the movie, Miley Cyrus, turned from a dying man’s very smart and very talented daughter into someone who makes out with a doll in a pool, twerks her way in the MTV VMAs and sings naked on top of an industrial wrecking ball.

Of course, before The Last Song there was Hannah Montana and that’s really where she got started. Then she graduated from being a Disney princess and eventually turned into now. Not good.

Truly, there was only one word I could think of to describe her during her performance in the VMAs: it starts with an “s” and ends with a “t”, with an “l” and a “u” in between.P!nk, in So What

There is one other celebrity whom I am reminded of whenever I see her new ‘do, though: P!nk. But I’m like, “Sure P!nk is all that, she’s crazy and everything, but I don’t think even she does that on stage.”

Apparently, she doesn’t like Miley’s latest performances either, saying:

“Am I into it? No, I think it’s tacky. She’s really freaking talented, she’s beautiful. She can sing her ass off and to go up there and do that? She’s cheating herself and she’s cheating the rest of us…She can do what she wants. People can like it if they want. I’m not going to buy it. She can do better. I’ve seen her do better.”

Britney Spears, in ToxicAnd I thought Toxic was bad when Britney Spears released it.

To be absolutely fair, I haven’t seen the full MV of Wrecking Ball. There could be something good in it. I only saw a few seconds of a clip in a video by TIME about the various incarnations of the person that is Miley Cyrus but I’m pretty sure “I could’ve lived my entire life without that picture in my head.”#

All I could think was, “If that’s a real wrecking ball and she’s really sitting naked on top of it, that’s gotta be really uncomfortable.”

I heard a bit of the song, though, from those few seconds and I thought that they could have made a really good video out of it. Something tragic, something dark, something heartbreaking… Something classy. At least, something decent.

If there’s anything that wrecking ball is wrecking, it’s Miley herself and her career. Of course, she is getting a lot of press out of it. Entertainment news is abuzz because of it. Heck, even TIME did a video about it. To top it off, I’m writing about it in the middle of a blog that includes law and hybrid science in it.

Truly, I don’t understand the motivation for her making such performances and releasing such videos. Like P!nk said, she could do so much better. She had something going for her when she starred in The Last Song. Now… Well, whatever.

Maybe she wants more attention from the press, the people, everyone. And, she got that. She’s trending everywhere. But I know there are a lot of other ways to get such attention. Lots and lots of other ways, lots and lots of better ways. She didn’t have to go that route.

What does everyone think about this? Do you think it’s all publicity? Or is everything a sort of a desperate attempt at growing up?

Jonas Brothers | Lines, Vines and Trying Times | album cover* Kinda like the Jonas Brothers when they released Lines, Vines, and Trying Times and they sounded so wrong and they reasoned that they wanted to grow up. Of course, Miley’s case is not exactly in the same category but, well, speaking of growing up…

# I wonder how many can remember this from when and where…

Source: P!nk quoted in PopWrapped, P!nk is Not a Fan of Miley Cyrus’ New Performances , http://popwrapped.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/pink-miley/

Leave a Reply

