In defense of law

My foray into criminology has properly introduced me into a subject I previously deemed uninteresting: law. I used to simply dismiss this particular subject as the epitome of boring.

stack of law booksPerhaps, it is those gigantic books I imagine law students to be reading. They are very huge.

Seriously, their books and bound in a very formalistic manner: in plain color with the letters embedded in. It’s not something that screams, “Pick me up!” It’s the kind of books that you’ll just pass by in a book store simply because of an utter lack of appeal.

I have two of them in my shelf. One, despite being small by comparison, managed to be about an inch thick. It’s hard cover, in plain black, and the titles are written in gold. The other one, about three times as thick, is not so different besides the cover being maroon.

The print doesn’t help them either. It’s as basic as can be, in simple black serif.

Books the like of which are the sort which I would never have picked up, opened and read. I used to not even read books let alone a law book.

Then, in comes criminology and I started taking such courses as Criminal Law.

I would never have imagined myself actually wanting to read through the black book outside of class hours but I did. For one reason alone: the law is one of the trickiest thing there is.

I have already said once before that the law isn’t perfect and that no humanly-devised system has ever achieved anything close. Whatever system humans have devised, there is bound to be a loophole here, a confusing precept here, a baffling provision somewhere.

And that’s exactly what makes it so interesting.

The job of a good defense lawyer is not all about making his/her client look right but also finding such confounding statements in the letter of the law and using it in their favor.

It’s almost so vicious an idea but it’s the truth – that which I have learned in the few courses I’ve had with law.

I know I said in the title that this is in defense of the law and this almost doesn’t sound like it. Of course, nowhere does it specify which kind of defense I am to give neither does it say to whom I am voicing my defense. And that is what makes it so great.

Leave a Reply

