Local Candidate Drops First Bomb

May 3, 2010

The morning air was filled with news about a dropping from a local candidate for a congressional position.

The news said that the dropping will be at the house of a candidate for town councilor at 12pm.

Being me, I waited for the time while observing the people walking by the streets.

I had a hunch that at around 11:30am, people will start going about to try to get first in line.

And my hunch didn’t fail me. At around 11:30am, people from the seaside, the barangay street being beside our house, started walking to the main highway.

I needn’t wonder or ask where they are all headed. I knew where they were going – to the house of the candidate for town councilor for the dropping from the congressional candidate of their party.

And to confirm it, I asked one of them. They were not very silent about it. They openly said that they were going to get their share.

I asked my aunt, a neighbor of the town candidate who was in our place that day, how much was going to be ditributed per voter. She told me that a dropping happened the day before that day from the same party. It happened at a barangay near the town proper. She said that, Php 100 per voter was supposed to be distributed but the so-called “leaders” of the candidate clipped it to Php 50 per voter. She wasn’t certain about the amount for out barangay.

That day was also the birthday of my father, Belated Happy Birthday, ‘Tay., which is why my aunt was in our place and a few more people. It was some sort of a small gathering.

The talk during the drinking-part of the celebration centered around politics, the upcoming elections, and, of-course, the dropping.

As we were celebrating, people were still walking, headed to the drop site. Some of them, greeting my father while they pass by.

My aunt was even telling me, “If you’re not so shy, you’ll be there and get your share.”

However, being me, I couldn’t dare to such a place – crowded with people, eager to get their share of something.

At around 1pm, we saw people already headed back. We thought they already got their share. Apparently, they haven’t.

More people came back empty-handed. The afternoon ended and we didn’t hear
of anyone getting a share.

When the night came, I asked my mom what happened. I don’t deal with drunk people really well so, I left the table and got myself a fill of the TV. She told me that the reason the money wasn’t distributed was that the “leaders” were holding on to the money and didn’t seem to want to distribute it.

If you haven’t gotten it yet, I was talking about vote buying here.

One thought on “Local Candidate Drops First Bomb

  1. Pingback: Dropping [in our barrio] Succeeds « Lights, Wings, Flight

Leave a Reply

