The Hacker Culture

March 31, 2009
As I pave my way to start being serious with this, and before I start getting some “lessons” from Thinking in C++, which thanks to someone who put her files in my system and to the search engine, I realized I actually have access to Volume 1, I’ma want to post this. Yeah, I want to join the hackers and get into the hacker culture.

The hacker emblem started being there today, March 31, 2009. I finished reading the article “How to Become a Hacker” last night – I got the article May 29, 2008. Yeah, it took me that long to give time to reading it. Read, to mean, really read it and understand it and get a few insights from it.

The Emblem

The Emblem

The Hacker Emblem is actually called a glider from the Game of Life – from Gosper’s glider gun. According to Eric s. Raymond, the one who proposed to use this glider as a Hacker Emblem and most probably, the writer of the article I read, “By using this emblem, you express sympathy with hackers’ goals, hackers’ values, and the hacker way of living.” Thus, I wanted to use the emblem on my site.

And since I want to be one, I just wanna emphasize on what hackers really are – as I’ve learned from the article I read last night. And I just wanna thank ‘em that I was right to say that someone who thinks that he knows what hackers really are was wrong. I don’t wanna ponder on that guy. Instead, this:

Hackers are usually believed to be the ones who love breaking into systems and phreaking the phone system – those ain’t the one you can call “hackers.” They, actually, have no place in the hacker community. Call them “crackers”, instead. “…Being able to break security doesn’t make you a hacker any more than being able to hotwire cars makes you an automotive engineer.” Things is, as I’ve learned, hackers BUILD things, crackers BREAK them.

More like, hackers are the ones you’ll want into your system; crackers – you’ll just wanna get rid of them.

And the Hacker Attitude does not include having the goal of breaking into the highest level security system there is.

The Hacker Attitude
1. The world is full of fascinating problems waiting to be solved.
2. No problem should ever have to be solved twice.
3. Boredom and drudgery are evil.
4. Freedom is good.
5. Attitude is no substitute for competence.

So there…
Now I’ma start with my “lessons”…

Oh, I almost forgot. This is one from the FAQ’s sheet/page/part of that article…

Q: I’ve been cracked. Will you help me fend off further attacks?
A: No. Every time I’ve been asked this question so far, it’s been from some poor sap running Microsoft Windows. It is not possible to effectively secure Windows systems against crack attacks; the code and architecture simply have too many flaws, which makes securing Windows like trying to bail out a boat with a sieve. The only reliable prevention starts with switching to Linux or some other operating system that is designed to at least be capable of security.

Q: I’m having problems with my Windows software. Will you help me?
A: Yes. Go to a DOS prompt and type “format c:”. Any problems you are experiencing will cease within a few minutes.

It’s not like I’m trying to bash MS Windows by posting those, it’s just that it sounds like fun. 😄 My system, btw, is on MS Windows but I’m thinkin’ of switching it back to its original pre-installed OS – which is a Linux. I go for open-source…

Leave a Reply

